atom feed8 messages in net.sourceforge.lists.courier-usersRE: [courier-users] blackholeing addr...
FromSent OnAttachments
Chris MacLeodAug 14, 2002 10:44 am 
Andrew NewtonAug 14, 2002 11:55 am 
William KnechtelAug 14, 2002 12:13 pm 
Sam VarshavchikAug 14, 2002 3:37 pm 
Chris MacLeodAug 15, 2002 8:21 am 
Sam VarshavchikAug 15, 2002 8:36 am 
Bill MichellAug 15, 2002 8:54 am 
Chris MacLeodAug 15, 2002 9:12 am 
Subject:RE: [courier-users] blackholeing addresses
From:William Knechtel (webm@endikos.com)
Date:Aug 14, 2002 12:13:51 pm
List:net.sourceforge.lists.courier-users

If you have dotcourier enabled, you can use a .courier file placed in a home directory forward it to the bitbucket. It would have to be a real directory, but would stay empty. Take a look at the man file for dotcourier.

Bill

-----Original Message----- From: cour@lists.sourceforge.net [mailto:cour@lists.sourceforge.net] On Behalf Of Chris MacLeod Sent: Wednesday, August 14, 2002 11:44 AM To: courier-users Subject: [courier-users] blackholeing addresses

I asked this a while ago and got some answers but it still doesn't seem to be doing what I want it to be doing.

I have a couple of addresses that used to be active that are now spam traps that I want just blackhole any mail that gets sent to them. They don't exist currently but the "unknown user" responses are going to nonexistant spam addresses so they bounce around in the queue for a while before expiring. I'd like any mail to one of these addresses to just head to the bit bucket immediatley

for examples sake I'm going to use the nobody account.

If I have no config in there it (attempts) delivery to the user nobody on the system, but nobody's home directory is world writable so it gets deffered (not what I want)

if I set an alias like this: nobody: /dev/null

it gets delivered to /etc/courier/aliasdir/.courier-xalias/ (again not what I want)

the setting: nobody: |>/dev/null (as someone recommended) does the same thing

while: nobody: doesn't even create an alias (as shown by makealias -dump)

In sendmail you could put an entry in access that read nob@domain.com: DENY (or BLOCK or whatever)

I tried that in smtpaccess but it didn't seem to work.

should I create a user in the userdb whose mail =/dev/null or something?