atom feed27 messages in net.sourceforge.lists.courier-usersRe: [courier-users] grrrr
FromSent OnAttachments
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 7:38 am 
Lloyd ZusmanMay 21, 2004 8:45 am 
Gordon MessmerMay 21, 2004 9:39 am 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 10:03 am 
Jerry AmundsonMay 21, 2004 10:04 am 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 10:14 am 
William HueMay 21, 2004 10:45 am 
Gordon MessmerMay 21, 2004 11:47 am 
Jeff JansenMay 21, 2004 12:07 pm 
Jerry AmundsonMay 21, 2004 12:24 pm 
David GomillionMay 21, 2004 12:33 pm 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 12:53 pm 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 1:03 pm 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 1:04 pm 
keithMay 21, 2004 1:25 pm 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 2:58 pm 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 2:58 pm 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 3:04 pm 
Sam VarshavchikMay 21, 2004 3:31 pm 
Chris PetersenMay 21, 2004 3:52 pm 
Robert HortonMay 21, 2004 4:04 pm 
Jeff JansenMay 21, 2004 4:30 pm 
Sam VarshavchikMay 21, 2004 4:56 pm 
Jeff JansenMay 21, 2004 5:26 pm 
William HueMay 21, 2004 5:34 pm 
m...@rtij.nlMay 24, 2004 4:11 am 
Sam VarshavchikMay 24, 2004 3:47 pm 
Subject:Re: [courier-users] grrrr
From:Robert Horton (tre@agarithil-nost.com)
Date:May 21, 2004 10:03:53 am
List:net.sourceforge.lists.courier-users

I had not tried that. Thank you! After registering it told me it appeared my server accepted an email to relay.

Which adds to the confusion because I have no idea WHY it would accept it. Like I stated, I ONLY have localhost and my IP setup as relayclients in the smptaccess file...

So I have no clue *sighs* On Friday, May 21, 2004, at 09:32 US/Pacific, Mike Handley wrote:

Hi Rob,

I don't know if this is any use to you but have you tried the following to see if it throws up any clues?

http://www.abuse.net/relay.html

Apologies if you've already tried it :)

-----Original Message----- From: cour@lists.sourceforge.net [mailto:cour@lists.sourceforge.net] On Behalf Of Robert Horton Sent: 21 May 2004 15:39 To: cour@lists.sourceforge.net Subject: [courier-users] grrrr

I am sorry to keep bringing this up, but I have tried everything and am not sure where to turn next!

The issue: one particular domain *appears* to be using me as a relay. The messages sit in my mailq and my log grows and grows. I have only a few actual users right now and I want to get this addressed before I get too many.

My smtpaccess file ONLY has allow,RELAYCLIENT for localhost and the IP I registered for my domain. My locals file only has localhost and my domain and my esmtpacceptmailfor also is localhost and my domain as is hosteddomains. My installation is nothing special nor have I made any drastic changes to anything.

Now, to be clear, I do not receive ANY spam from this domain or any other for that matter so I do not think this is a filtering issue, although it may be.

So I guess my question has a few options:

A.) How do I prevent this one domain from attempting to go through me and further HOW are they doing it?

B.) How can I set the mailq so it does not hold onto these emails thereby slowing MY mail down? NOTE: I am not asking how to remove all the messages, I know how to do that. :)

C.) Is there some place that I have not looked that I should be looking? Is this perhaps not even a courier issue but perhaps something in my system? (I don't think so but it does not hurt to consider it.)

I am running an LFS system with the 2.4.25 kernel.

Again I apologize for the continued whining and posting, but this is very frustrating to me and I would very much like to make it stop, so any help whatsoever, even if you think it is obscure, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,