2 messages in net.sourceforge.lists.courier-usersRe: [courier-users] Re: how to config...
FromSent OnAttachments
Ricardo KleemannApr 28, 2005 2:33 pm 
Michael NguyenApr 28, 2005 4:09 pm 
Actions with this message:
Paste this link in email or IM:
Paste this link in email or IM:
Atom feed for this thread
Paste this URL into your reader:
Subject:Re: [courier-users] Re: how to configure SPF records?Actions...
From:Michael Nguyen (mich@twentyten.org)
Date:Apr 28, 2005 4:09:35 pm
List:net.sourceforge.lists.courier-users

[snip]

Ok, this user is using my courier as a relay (authenticated smtp), however 64.80.255.252 is NOT my server's IP. My server's IP (the relay being used)

This was merely a guess. I saw the IP in the email and assumed it was some sort of tracking.

is 38.118.152.246. I'm guessing that perhaps that is the IP of his email client? But if so, it doesn't make sense because shouldn't the IP be the one of the email server that is relaying the message?

Yes, SPF will check against the IP of the mail server.

[snip]

My main domain is indeed americasnet.com... however that is not the domain that the user is providing when utilizing the relay. Which domain would I need to add to spf.pobox.com ?

The user's domain is the one that need's an SPF record. Basically, SPF records say this:

- Any legitimate mail that comes from me will only come from the following IP addresses

So, if your friend has say, a gmail.com address and tries to send through your server, he'll be rejected if the recipient server has a strict SPF filter.

gmail.com. 78 IN TXT "v=spf1 a:mproxy.gmail.com a:rproxy.gmail.com a:wproxy.gmail.com a:zproxy.gmail.com a:nproxy.gmail.com ?all"

gmail.com says that real gmail email comes from the above servers, none of which are 38.112.152.246 etc.

[snip]

I guess a better question is, what exactly is the error? Is it the destination server (joimail.com) rejecting the message because of some misconfiguration on my server?

The answer is exactly as I described before. The destination server (joimail.com) is rejecting the message because the sender of the mail is failing SPF checks. What's the domain of the user in question? Perhaps it'll be easier to show you once you give that information.

Michael