2 messages in net.sourceforge.lists.courier-users[courier-users] is my server a relay?
FromSent OnAttachments
Seth LaneDec 27, 2005 8:38 am 
Sam VarshavchikDec 27, 2005 3:25 pm 
Actions with this message:
Paste this link in email or IM:
Paste this link in email or IM:
Atom feed for this thread
Paste this URL into your reader:
Subject:[courier-users] is my server a relay?Actions...
From:Seth Lane (sla@ping-us.com)
Date:Dec 27, 2005 8:38:47 am
List:net.sourceforge.lists.courier-users

I did some testing and this email from abuse.net apparently thinks I am although
for the life of me I can't figure out how. I am also getting several "bounced"
emails/day from Postmasters which I know I didn't send email too. I went to the
URL at bottom but nothing on Courier there. I know Courier is supposed to stop
relaying by default but then how did this email get to me and why am I getting
bounced emails for emails I never sent?

Here's the email from abuse.net which tested relaying:

Delivered-To: sla@ping-us.com Return-Path: <spam@abuse.net> Received: from www.abuse.net (www.abuse.net [::ffff:208.31.42.77]) by www.ping-us.com with esmtp; Tue, 27 Dec 2005 07:19:20 -0800 To: sla@ping-us.com From: secu@abuse.net Subject: Test for susceptibility of ping-us.com to third-party mail relay Date: Tue, 27 Dec 2005 15:10:08 GMT Message-Id: <rlyt@abuse.net> Sender: sla@ping-us.com X-Sender-IP: 162.84.183.84 X-Envelope: <spam@abuse.net> -> <sla@ping-us.com>

This is a test of third-party mail relay, generated via the Network Abuse Clearinghouse at http://www.abuse.net.

Target host = www.ping-us.com [207.234.130.23] Test performed by <sla@ping-us.com> from 162.84.183.84

A well-configured mail server should NOT relay third-party email. Otherwise, the server is subject to abuse by vandals and spammers, and probable blacklisting by recipients of the unwanted third-party e-mail.

For information on how to secure a mail server against third-party relay, visit <URL: http://www.mail-abuse.com/support/an_sec3rdparty.html>.