atom feed14 messages in net.sourceforge.lists.courier-imapRe: [Courier-imap] sf bounces email f...
FromSent OnAttachments
michal taterkaSep 19, 2005 2:08 am 
Sam VarshavchikSep 19, 2005 3:48 am 
michal taterkaSep 19, 2005 6:10 am 
Jay LeeSep 19, 2005 6:17 am 
Tony EarnshawSep 19, 2005 2:23 pm 
Brian CandlerSep 20, 2005 12:51 am 
vgri...@hotmail.comSep 21, 2005 6:26 am 
vgri...@hotmail.comSep 21, 2005 6:31 am 
vgri...@hotmail.comSep 21, 2005 6:39 am 
Brian CandlerSep 21, 2005 6:57 am 
Jay LeeSep 21, 2005 7:24 am 
Keith MatthewsSep 21, 2005 7:33 am 
vgri...@hotmail.comSep 21, 2005 7:34 am 
Jay LeeSep 21, 2005 7:54 am 
Subject:Re: [Courier-imap] sf bounces email for this list.
From:Keith Matthews (cour@frequentous.co.uk)
Date:Sep 21, 2005 7:33:23 am
List:net.sourceforge.lists.courier-imap

On Wed, 21 Sep 2005 10:24:34 -0400 (EDT) "Jay Lee" <jl@pbu.edu> wrote:

vgri@hotmail.com said:

sf keeps bouncing my post as spam - how do i include any config files? alternatively - how much badnwidth courier-imap list need? can we move away from sf? who the hell is in charge of sf spam filters?

Your suggestion to move off of SourceForge is a little premature. You haven't even figured out why your posts are marked as spam. It's possible your mail server has ended up on a RBL list or such. SF uses SpamAssassin for filtering, you should see some headers describing why the message was bounced. In addition, you can report issues to SF on their site at: http://sourceforge.net/support/?group_id=1

A few months back, the lists mail servers were advertising STARTTLS but would error out with a 5xx when a TLS session was started, a post to the SF support site had the problem resolved in a few days. Not bad for a mind-boggling large operation like SF. They have their issues from time to time but when you consider what they actually handle and the resources they make available for the OSS community, it's pretty incredible.

The SF list servers also use sender verification. You must accept traffic from the input side of the list server to the account you posted from or you'll get your message rejected. That is not the same as the IP that sends the message to list members.