2 messages in net.sourceforge.lists.courier-users[courier-users] Re: how to configure ...
FromSent OnAttachments
Ricardo KleemannApr 28, 2005 2:33 pm 
Michael NguyenApr 28, 2005 4:09 pm 
Actions with this message:
Paste this link in email or IM:
Paste this link in email or IM:
Atom feed for this thread
Paste this URL into your reader:
Subject:[courier-users] Re: how to configure SPF records?Actions...
From:Ricardo Kleemann (rica@americasnet.com)
Date:Apr 28, 2005 2:33:54 pm
List:net.sourceforge.lists.courier-users

Thanks Michael...

I"ve never configured SPF, I don"t even know if my version of courier supports SPF (I"m using 0.44.2)

This is not a Courier issue, but a DNS issue.

A client is having some trouble when using authenticated smtp. The

server

on

the other end is complaining about SPF records, I get this bounce:

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors ----- <chico02@jo...> (reason: 550 SPF NONE, if sender valid send to allow-uqwz-64.80.255.252@jo... more info see http://mail.joimail.com/allow.htm)

What"s happening is your friend"s ISP is rejecting all email that either fails SPF or has no SPF records (WOW!!!). The instructions are fairly clear...if the sender is valid (you"re here asking about it, so you must be), send email to allow-uqwz-64.80.255.252@jo.... I"m assuming that 64.80.255.252 is the IP address of your relay.

Ok, this user is using my courier as a relay (authenticated smtp), however 64.80.255.252 is NOT my server's IP. My server's IP (the relay being used) is 38.118.152.246. I'm guessing that perhaps that is the IP of his email client? But if so, it doesn't make sense because shouldn't the IP be the one of the email server that is relaying the message?

So I'm confused. The person says he has already sent an email to allo@joimail.com, but I guess that hasn't helped.

The other option is to add SPF records for your domain (presumably americas.net). If you own the domain, you can add the record yourself (go to http://spf.pobox.com/ to help you create the right entries) or you can ask your ISP to add the record.

My main domain is indeed americasnet.com... however that is not the domain that the user is providing when utilizing the relay. Which domain would I need to add to spf.pobox.com ?

It sounds like it might be easier to just email the specified address.

Yeah... however the person claims he has already done that.

I guess a better question is, what exactly is the error? Is it the destination server (joimail.com) rejecting the message because of some misconfiguration on my server?

Thanks again Ricardo